TITLING A VEHICLE
Home » Motor Vehicles » Titling A Vehicle

What Needs a Title

Most vehicles require a title in order to prove your ownership of that vehicle.

Vehicles that require a registration and a title:

  • Passenger vehicles
  • Buses
  • 1986 and newer model vehicles
  • Trucks and cargo vehicles
  • Travel trailers, campers, and horse trailers
  • Motorhomes
  • Trailers weighing more than 2,000 pounds

Vehicles that require a registration only:

  • 1962 and older model vehicles
  • Boats and boat trailers
  • Homemade trailers
  • Utility trailers weighing 2,000 pounds or less
  • 1985 - 1963 model vehicles (Titling is optional)

Vehicles that requrie no registration or title in Georgia:

  • Out-of-State student/business vehicles
  • Mopeds
  • Off Road Vehicles
  • Self-propelled wheelchairs or invalid tricycles

 


Applying for a Title

If you purchased your vehicle from a dealership, they will mail your title to us for you. When they have informed you that your title has been processed, come in to a Motor Vehicle Division Office to purchase your plate and finish your registration.

Otherwise, you will need to come in to one of our county Motor Vehicle Division Offices to apply for your title. We require all new owners of the vehicle to be present to sign the title application.

When you come in, you will generally need the following to only apply for a title:

  • Title (or Bill of Sale if no title is required)
  • A Georgia driver’s license for each new owner
  • $18.00 for the title fee
  • Payment for Title Ad Valorem Tax

When you purchase, lease, or move a vehicle to Georgia, you must title your vehicle within 30 days. If you purchase a vehicle from an individual, law enforcement requires you to title your vehicle within 7 business days.

That said, we do not charge late fees until you are over the 30-day deadline.

Late fees include:

  • $10.00 added to the title fee
  • 10% of the Title Ad Valorem Tax added (5% for dealerships)
  • 1% interest for every extra month you are late (5% for dealerships)

 


Lost Titles

If you have lost your Georgia title, you need to come in to one of our Motor Vehicle Offices to request a replacement. A replacement title is only $8.00, though it does require all owners be present to sign the application.

If you were making payments on your vehicle and you did not receive a title from your lienholder, you will need a lien release from them before you come in. A lien release simply says that you paid off your car loan.

 

New Residents and Lost Titles

If you just moved from another state and you lost your out-of-state title, you need to contact the last state were your vehicle was registered for a replacement title.

If were making payments on your vehicle, your lien holder might not have the title.  Some states send the title to you even though you have a lien.

These states include:

  • Arizona (purchased before 1/1/2003)
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri (purchased after 7/1/2003)
  • Montana
  • New York
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

If this is the case and you lost your out-of-state title, you need to contact the last state were your vehicle was registered for a replacement title.

 


Filling out a Title

 

For reference, this is what a Georgia Certificate of Title looks like:

(Click to Enlarge)

 

Read every title carefully!

Titles from other states will be designed differently, but the information required is often the same.

Erasures and whiteout will void a title. Mistakes may require extra forms to correct what someone wrote incorrectly. If you do not know what to write or do, call us or come in to the office and our clerks will help you.

 

Instructions for Filling out a Title

  1. Look at the front of the title. Make sure any listed lien holders have filled in box (C).
    • If the lien has not been signed off, you will need a lien release from the previous owner's lien holder.
       
  2. Flip the title over to the back.
     
  3. Make sure all owners on the front of the title have printed their names and signed on lines (6) and (7).
     
  4. Print your full legal name (just like it is on your driver’s license) on line (1).
    • If you have changed your name, you will need a court document showing that change (i.e. Marriage Certificate, Divorce Decree, or Change of Name).
       
  5. Print your current residential address on lines (2) and (3).
  6. Write the date you purchased your vehicle one line (4).
    • If you make a mistake, any correction adds a $10.00 penalty. Wait until you come into the office before making a correction to the purchase date.
       
  7. Write the current mileage on line (5).
    • If you make a mistake, stop. Do not mark out the mileage. So long as the mileage on the back of the title is more than the mileage on the front of the title, we will accept that amount.
       
    • If you wrote your mileage less than what is on the front of the title, relax. We have an affidavit to correct the problem.
       
  8. Print your full legal name (just like it is on your driver’s license) on line (8).
     
  9. Sign your name (however you normally sign) on line (9).
    • If you are making payments on the vehicle, write the name and address of the person or company to whom you are sending your payments on lines (10) and (11)